USyd to take on Melbourne, Adelaide, Bond, and Griffith in opening round of Aon Uni 7s

Sydney Uni’s rugby 7s team will contest their second year in the national Aon Uni 7s series, which starts tomorrow at the University of Queensland.

Jakiya Whitfeld sitecore.jpg

Sydney Uni will take on the University of Adelaide, University of Melbourne, Bond University, and Griffith University in the five rounds taking place this weekend, before the weekend finals.

The Aon Uni 7s is the first domestic Australian 7s competition for women, which runs for its third season in 2019. The USyd entry remains the University’s only national rugby team. Sydney Uni’s participation means they are represented in all top-level club competitions: the Shute Shield men’s competition, the Jack Scott Cup women’s tournament, and now the Aon Uni 7s.

The University of Technology Sydney (UTS) and University of Western Australia (UWA) will both join the series this year, replacing Macquarie Uni and the University of Tasmania.

SportSURG FM BroadcasterUni 7s